Red Bull Air Race Calendar 2010

The 2010 Red Bull Air Race World Championship takes off in Abu Dhabi on March 26/27 and then circles the globe with eight races on a record five continents this year with a highlight-packed calendar that includes new locations in New York City and Lisbon along with eagerly awaited returns to Rio de Janeiro and Germany.

Abu Dhabi will host the season opener of the high-speed, low-altitude championship for the sixth straight year. Bonhomme, who won the 2008 race over the turquoise waters in the United Arab Emirates’ capital, and Arch, who won there last year, are the favourites. But the other 13 teams worked hard in the off-season and will be looking to de-throne Bonhomme as well.


In 2009, 3.5 million spectators attended the races and 270 million followed on television broadcasts around the globe. In the Red Bull Air Race World Championship, the world’s 15 best race pilots fly close to the ground at speeds reaching 370 km/hr (230 mph), while enduring forces of up to 12 Gs as they navigate unique and demanding race tracks made up of 20 metre high inflatable air gates.

Race Calendar 2010

Date Place
March 26/27 Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
April 17/18 Perth, Australia
May 08/09 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
June 05/06 Windsor, Ontario, Canada
June 19/20 New York, USA
August 07/08 EuroSpeedway, Lausitz, Germany
August 19/20 Budapest, Hungary
September 04/05 Lisbon, Portugal

Source: Red Bull